My Next Few Books

Hey guys! As you may know I love to read and I was very lucky this Christmas and got a couple of books which was good timing as I had finished my last ‘new’ book just before Christmas. So the 3 books that I will be reading next are Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, From Notting Hill to New York Actually by Ali McNamara and Alanatomy by Alan Carr.

I’ll start with Gone Girl because I have already started reading this but I’m only a few chapters in. If you are into mystery/thrillers then this may be for you. It’s basically about a couple who have been married for 5 years but on their 5th wedding anniversary the wife goes missing. This is the blurb – ‘Who are you? What have we done to each other? These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone. So what really did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?’ Dun dun duuuunnnn, sounds SO good and I can’t wait to finish it!

img_3139

I think the next book I will read, after Gone Girl, is From Notting Hill to New York Actually by Ali McNamara. This is the second book in the Notting Hill series, I have read the first and third already as I didn’t realise they were a 3 part series so I already know what happens at the end but I have missed out on a big chunk of the story so I definitely want to read this! If you are after a feel good, pick me up easy read then I recommend this series! This is the blurb – ‘Scarlett O’Brien, utterly addicted to romantic films, has found her leading man. She’s convinced Sean is Mr Right, but the day-to-day reality of a relationship isn’t quite like the movies. With Sean constantly away on business, Scarlett and her new best friend Oscar decide to head to New York for the holiday of a lifetime. From one famous landmark to the next, Scarlett and Oscar make many new friends during their adventure – including sailors in town for Fleet Week, a famous film star, and Jamie & Max, a TV reporter and cameraman. Scarlett finds herself strangely drawn to Jamie, they appear to have much in common: a love of films and Jamie’s search for a parent he never knew. But Scarlett has to ask herself why she is reacting like this to another man when she’s so in love with Sean.’ 

img_3140

Finally onto a bit of a different book by Alan Carr called Alanatomy. I guess this is a bit like an autobiography as its about Alan Carr and his body/life and I wouldn’t usually pick this up but my Dad knows I love Alan Carr so he bought this for me which is super thoughtful and I am very grateful. Having read the blurb I am actually quite intrigued and excited to read this as I really do enjoy watching Alan Carr on the tele as I find him hilarious and I laughed just reading the blurb so I can imagine I will be laughing a lot more when reading this. Check out the blurb – ‘It must seem strange to you that I’ve called a book Alanatomy. For anyone who has taken the time to see my stand-up performances or watched my chat show, ‘Chattyman’, knows that my body has hardly been kind to me – in fact there’ve been times when we’ve actually stopped talking to each other. Balding, myopic, often flaky with psoriasis, back fat that hangs suspended like a cape, a voice that could strip varnish, an increasingly dodgy hip and even dodgier teeth. Why would you draw attention to it? you must ask. Couldn’t you just call the book something else? Do you think the Great British Public is ready to pore over your body? Well, you’d better be the judge of that…’ Let me know if you have read this and what you thought! 🙂

So that is it for this post. Let me know what you are currently reading and if you have any recommendations!

See you soon!

Rachel xxx

2 thoughts on “My Next Few Books

Leave a Reply

